Beyond the Portraits: Part 4

Here we are! The final Beyond the Portraits post! I hope you’ve enjoyed this short little series. From here on out, posts and updates are going to be mostly information about the release of “Portraits” itself. I hope you’ll stick around for them and the book itself! Thanks for reading!


Growing up I was an absolute menace with a camera. Every museum, every landscape, every EVERYTHING was captured on film. I still have an old photo album from when I was a kid and a third of those images are of random city streets. Another third are of clouds and animals. The rest are friends and family members in mid-motion. Once digital cameras came out I was even worse since I didn’t have to worry about film. Now that I have my phone with me all the time, I’m sure I can get downright insufferable at times.

Well, maybe not insufferable, but my family has to wait time and time again for me to snap pictures of different buildings, vehicles, and clouds in multiple angles. Can’t imagine that’s fun.

I can’t help it. I know one day I’m going to be writing a scene, mapping a fictional country, putting a fantastical army into formation, or something else just as bonkers and I’ll need a visual reference. Characters will escape through narrow mountain passes and find safety in secluded valleys. I need to know what those look like. They’ll stand among aspens in the fall, marvel at the golden leaves, and conclude that the world isn’t so bad after all. I need to know what that looks like.

Growing up in Michigan, where “Portraits of the Faerie Queen” takes place, there were always plenty of photo opportunities. I could have sworn I saved all the ones from my old digital camera, but, alas, they’re nowhere to be found. Luckily, my mother rocks and has agreed to let me share some of hers. The Michigan pictures (enlarged four) belong to her. The moments they captured played a key roll in shaping the world of the Faerie Court and the characters that dwell there. I took the others (far left) during my time in Colorado. I just wanted to take a minute and show you the roots of the worlds in my writing to get a better idea of where you’ll be transported when “Portraits” comes out and where you might go in future works. 🙂 Thank you for sticking with me through this short series! More “Portraits” news to come! Enjoy the pictures!

 

 

Leave a Reply

