Camp NaNoWriMo: Day Twelve

Read Day Twelve

I finished an entire chapter today! Whooo! I don’t know what it is, but I can’t take breaks in the middle of action scenes. It throws off the entire groove and it’s nearly impossible to get back. But, yay! Faerie fight scene!


Sunset 1As the two faeries continue to swing, stab, and swipe at one another, I pick up heavy chunks of broken log, pine cones, and stones to throw at Lyra. The first few sail passed her head. One almost clonks Oliver in the nose and he looks at me like I’m insane.

“Gia, are you crazy?” he pants. “Get out of here.”

“I’m not leaving you on your own,” I call.

Lyra cackles as she spins, trying to see where I’m hiding. “You honestly think you can help? What are you going to–”

I nail her in the side of the head with a giant square of rotting wood.

That’s what I’m going to do, bitch.

She screams as the wood crumbles in her face and blood trickles from her pointed ear. Apparently forgetting about Oliver, she comes for me instead. Oliver tries to take advantage of her open back, but she turns and attacks again, alternating between steps towards me and jabs at him. So, I throw a few more rocks. One nails her square in the back the head with a sickening crack that even makes me wince. That had to hurt.

Oliver uses one of her tricks against her, catching one foot and coming down on top of her, pinning her to the forest floor. Lyra cries out again as her already injured head hits the ground.

“You said you’re working for a higher authority,” Oliver grunts, straddling Lyra and pinning her hands to the dirt. “Who is it?” She thrashes and screams, but Oliver only pins her arms deeper into the dirt. “Tell me or I’ll cut your throat.”

His words sucker punch me in the gut. Oliver would never do something like that.

Would he?

Lyra arches her back as she cackles, then meets Oliver’s eyes again. “You’ll do no such thing, you mixed up little nobody. You’re as weak as the humans that raised you.”

Oliver leans down closer and snarls, “Are you willing to find out what I will and won’t do? My mother may not care about me, but I know what she can do and I’m not afraid to try my hand at imitating her.”

“If that’s the case, you should join us. We’ll need people that ruthless and cunning to take back this world from both faeries and humans. I’d put in a good word for you.” Her eyes lower to Oliver’s tunic, then come back to his face with a deviousness smirk. “Show me exactly what’s under those clothes and I might do a little more. How much is glamour, how much is flesh, I wonder?”

Rage flairs across Oliver’s face. He lifts a hand as if to strike Lyra across the face, and I suck in a sharp breath. He freezes.

Lyra attacks.

She uses the moment of distraction to snatch up her dagger and manages to slice Oliver across the cheek before he can defend himself. They tumble in the underbrush, knifes and limbs flailing and lashing until Lyra manages to kick Oliver in the face and scramble to her feet. Instead of going for him, she turns and aims for me.

“Sorry, little mouse,” she cackles, “but you’re making this drag out. Sorry things didn’t work out.”


Read Day Thirteen

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: Day Twelve

Leave a Reply

