Camp NaNoWriMo: Day Ten

Read Day Nine

Day ten!!! Whoohoo!!! I hope everyone’s Camp NaNoWriMo projects are going well! I can’t believe we’re already a third of the way done already! It’s been fun thus far. Long, stressful, occasionally ulcer-inducing, but fun. I’m just kidding about that last part. 🙂


campnanowrimo10.jpgOliver takes a red A-line dress from the rack and holds it up. For the first time since we walked in, he looks pleased with himself. “Now, this will catch her hook, line, and sinker. A touch of lipstick, unbraid your hair and you’ll be irresistible.”

I’ll admit it’s a cute dress, and I have some sneakers that would match. If we’re running around the forest, I refuse to wear heals. “Irresistible” is a bit much, even it wasn’t me we were talking about. It’s just a thrift-store dress.

I examine the waistline with skepticism. “Will it even fit?”

“Only one way to find out.”Oliver grabs my hand, drags me towards the dressing rooms, shoves the dress in my hand, and pushes me into an open stall. “Now, repeat back to me what the plan is.”

There’s no one around, so I doubt I’ll sound that crazy. “We go to the party you know about together, but you pretend to loose me. I find Lyra and tell her I changed my mind about singing for her, then I take her to somewhere secluded so she can ‘hear me better.’ That’s when you come in, scare her into leaving Miguel alone, then we go home.”

“Perfect. And where are you supposed to be while I talk to her?”

“Away and out of sight.”

“Good girl.”

“Don’t ‘good girl’ me,” I snap, shimmying into the dress. “I’m not your assistant in some magic show.” After contorting to get the dress zipped, I study my reflection for a moment. I have to admit, Oliver’s got good taste. It’s a bit tighter than I’m comfortable with, but the high waistline makes me look a little thinner.

“Some time before she takes Miguel, please.”

“All right, all right.” I unlock the door and swing it open. “God, you’re the sassiest boy I’ve ever met, you know that?”

“What can I say? I’ve had,” Oliver turns from the men’s section and trails off as he takes in the dress, “…practice.” He shakes off the shock and points to my clothes hanging over the dressing room chair. “After tonight, you’re to burn that T-shirt and those jeans you walked in here in. It’s practically a sin for you to walk around like that when this is what you look like.”

“I like that T-shirt and those jeans, thanks,” I argue. “And I know you need me to wear the dress, but you’re laying it on a little thick, don’t you think?”

Oliver rolls his eyes and goes back to browsing clothes. “You’re impossible. Get changed. I’ll pick you up from your house at six. Please think of a believable story to tell your parents.”

“Pizza with Zoe, Miguel, and you. Then a movie. That way if we go passed eleven o’clock, there’s a justifiable reason.”

“Good thinking.”

“I know.”

I hear Oliver scoff from the other side of the door.

“I have to give it to you, this is the fastest successful shopping trip I’ve ever been on. You have a gift.”

“It’s my mother’s gift, actually. One of her favorite things to do back in the Alice Era was to take me thrift shopping. She still does, but I’ll agree with her that girls have more options.”

“The Alice Era?” I chuckle, throwing on my shirt.

“It’s a lot shorter than ‘when I was pretending to be Alice.’”

“True.”


Read Day Eleven

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: Day Ten

Leave a Reply

