Meet the Characters: Rina Fischler

Let’s meet the other leading lady of “Portraits of a Faerie Queen,” set to be released this summer from NineStar Press!


Rina1. How old are you?

17. A bit young for college, I know, but it’s whatever.

1b. How old would you say you are mentally?

Mid-30s? I’ve been told I have an old soul and I’m inclined to believe it. I over think everything and feel like I have to be three steps ahead of everything. I never really felt like I could be a kid. I had to prepare to be an adult.

2. Did you have a happy childhood? Why/Why not?

Happy enough, I guess. I have two older brothers and they’re both really energetic, so I remember a lot of chaos growing up. It was happy chaos, though. When I wasn’t caught in the middle of it, I was studying.

3. Any past relationships? How do you feel about them now?

I tried to date a few guys since I figured that’s what I was supposed to do. They were all good people. My parents approved of all of them, but I’m gay, so obviously none of them worked out.

I feel a little bit guilty, honestly. I should have just admitted I didn’t like them up front. Like I said, they were all actually great–which a lot of straight girls can’t say–so I feel bad for getting their hopes up. I’m still friends with all three of them on Facebook and, once I came out, they understood.

4. What do you care about?

School. School, school, school. I’ve been taught how important school is since I was still, even before I was home schooled. My mom’s a pretty successful criminal mystery novelist and my dad’s a lawyer, so go figure, right?

5. What are you obsessed with?

Other than school? Haha. I’ve been pretty into “Doctor When” since I was a kid. The classic series. The updated one is pretty good, but I haven’t seen a lot of it, actually. Because, you know, school.

6. Biggest Fear?

Flunking out of college. Or getting anything lower than a B. I know, it’s a problem. I’m working on it. I just don’t want to disappoint my parents or myself. Plus, I’m black. I’m scared of everyone being like, “See? We knew she wasn’t good enough.” Like I said, I’m working on it.

7. What’s the best thing that ever happened to you?

Coming out to my nuclear family. I’d been dreading it FOREVER, but they were actually really cool with it. My brothers actually started cracking up. Apparently the knew for months. My parents weren’t that surprised either.

7b. What about the worst thing?

 Coming out to my extended family. :/ My dad’s family was surprisingly cool, all though a bit disappointed that I probably won’t be having kids, but my mom’s side was…yikes. My mom’s bit of a black sheep (no pun intended) because she’s pretty much abandoned her Baptist roots and the rest of her family is super religious. So, obviously, me being gay didn’t go over so well. There’s a few relatives that still won’t talk to us.  

8. Most embarrassing thing that’s ever happened to you?

I high school I played volleyball at our local community center. This really cute girl joined the team and, on her first day, she was on the opposite time as me. I was too busy staring at her and ended up taking a volleyball to the face. Not only that, but it knocked me off balance and I fell on my butt. Worst nosebleed ever. God, that was embarrassing. The only saving grace was that I had the ACT in a few days, so I could blame my zoning out on that.

9. Biggest Secret?

Hmm…I broke a lamp as a kid and blamed it on my brothers. They had a history of trying to play baseball inside, so my parents bought it hook, line and sinker. I still feel a little bad for that. 😦

10. What’s one word to describe yourself?

Curious! I love mysteries and I love learning. That’s why I really wanted to go to a liberal arts college. I’ve been really happy with it so far 🙂

 

Questions from  here.

Leave a Reply

