Meet the Characters: Jocelyn Lennox

“Portraits of a Faerie Queen” comes out this summer from NineStar Press, so I figured it might be fun to introduce some characters before the book comes out. It only feels right to start with the lead, Jocelyn


 

joy1. How old are you?

Seventeen, going on eighteen this November.

1b. How old would you say you are mentally?

I’ve never really thought about it…I’d say ‘early twenties.’ That’s what I aim for at least. 17 doesn’t feel old enough to deal with the situation I’ve put myself in, so I’ve tried to grow up pretty fast these last few months to keep on top of everything. I’m not sure if it’s working ^^;

2. Did you have a happy childhood? Why/Why not?

I’d say so. My parents were always really positive people, full of bright energy, so, even though we never had a ton of money, I don’t remember ever feeling particularly down or worried about our lot in life. When my dad died things got kind of hard, but my mom, sister and I tried to keep our spirits up. After the car accident that put my mother in a coma, things stared falling apart. Does that count, though? Are you still in your childhood at seventeen?

3. Any past relationships? How do you feel about them now?

I dated the leader of the cheer squad my sophomore year of high school. Cross my heart! She’s still pretty deep in the closet, so she’ll deny it, but we went steady for nearly a year. She broke it off when her friends started getting suspicious. We were never that serious, so I’m not too work up over it. We dated for the thrill of it, mostly. I do feel a bit bad for her, though. I think she’d be a lot happier if she came out to her friends and family. I’ve pretty much always been out and, like I said, I had a pretty good life until the accident. Then again, I think I might be bit of an outlier.

I had a ‘girlfriend’ the summer before seventh grade at art camp. I was in the art program, she was in choir. It was all very star-crossed and romantic. I would draw her little comics and slip them to her during concerts. After camp, we wrote letters for about a month (she lived on the other side of the state), but she stopped after a while :(. I hope she’s well, though.

4. What do you care about?

That’s such a broad question, haha. First and foremost, I care about my family. That’s why I’m dealing so closely with the faerie realm, to heal my mom and put my family back together. I know my sister doesn’t realize it all the time, since I live separate from them, but it wasn’t my call. Besides, I don’t want faeries anywhere near my sister or our uncle she’s living with. I had Dominic with me when I first got involved with Faerie to figure out the do’s and dont’s. I don’t think I’d be as good at teaching that stuff.

5. What are you obsessed with?

“Doctor When” and “Earls of the Amulet.” They’re both pretty big in the nerd world right now. Thanks to the whole Faerie situation, I’ve had to put the obsession on hold. I’m a whole season behind in “Doctor When” and two books behind in “Earls.” 😦

6. Biggest Fear?

My mom never getting better. If my sister and I loose her…man…I don’t even want to think about that. My sister would hate me, and I couldn’t blame her. It would be an absolute nightmare.

7. What’s the best thing that ever happened to you?

Hmm…I feel like I should say “discovering that faeries are real,” but given that I found them by chance after causing a crash that left my mother in a coma, I also feel like it can’t count. Dominic teaching me how to sword fight has been pretty rad, I guess.

7b. What about the worst thing?

See my comment about that car crash in number seven.

8. Most embarrassing thing that’s ever happened to you?

The first day of freshman year I fell down a set of bleachers in the middle of an assembly. Not at the beginning, not the end, right smack dab in the middle while the principle was talking. No one would let it go for weeks. I eventually tried to play it up as my fifteen minutes of fame, which made it a little less embarrassing.

9. Biggest Secret?

Other than the knowledge that faeries exist? Hmm…I’m hella gay, but I’ve had a crush on Dallas Sakurai since I was, like, ten. He played a lead role in the “Earls” movie adaptions and I’ve been in love ever since. I can’t recall ever having a crush on any other guy, though. Still, don’t tell anyone. They’ll try to take my lesbian card. 😛

10. What’s one word to describe yourself?

Good question. No, those aren’t either of the words, haha. “Secrets,” I guess. Not that creative, I know, but it’s the first word that popped into my head and it feels pretty accurate. I’ve had to keep a lot of secrets as of late for the sake of my family and my own safety. Quite a few of them are constantly at the front of my mind, so, yeah.

Leave a Reply

