For the Kids Like Me

I’m relatively new to this whole blogging thing. I’ve been running the indie book review blog, Cheap Reads, for about nine months and have been writing for Truth About Books for just as long, but as far as blogging goes, I’m still learning the ropes. Part of that process has been to read up on how to run a blog, what kind of posts to write, etc. One of the strongest things that has stuck with me is that I have to figure out why I’m doing all of this in the first place. I have to know myself to know my writing, so to speak.

Focusing on myself. Yay. My favorite. It’s gotten easier over the years, but it’s never going to be my favorite activity.

And that right there is why I write. I hate the idea of teens growing up with that feeling the way I did: like something about me made me not worth knowing.

I don’t want another single kid to feel like they had to charge into adulthood alone with everything figured out, holding the weight of the world on their shoulders. The idea that there are teens who think they’re unlovable because of who they love breaks my heart. No kid should look at themselves with disgust because of their natural appearance or weight.

I’m not claiming to do anything revolutionary. The world of entertainment seems to be becoming more diverse by the day, after all. I just want to be a small part of that.

I want to write books I would have loved as a teenager, because I know there are still teenagers like me out there. Some adults too, I would bet. Everyone needs to know they’re not alone and that they are worth treasuring. For some people, it takes books to realize that.

Those books made a world of difference for me. I’d like to pass that on.

What about you? Why do you write? What do you like to write? I’d love to get to know more of you. Let’s start a dialogue. 🙂

 

Image from cliparting.com

 

Leave a Reply

