Tempted (Daily Writing Prompt)

It wouldn’t be the first time I slipped. I wonder how close she’s come to giving in.

I can still never tell who’s more tempted, me or her.

She holds all the secrets, I hold all the power. We’re stuck until one of us surrenders, yet the person who holds out the longest holds the reigns from here until the end, whenever that might be.

And so, we go around again, her giving the slightest hints of her secrets and me giving small slivers of power, neither of us lower or higher than the other.

I can’t say it’s the most uncomfortable stand still, given what I get to look at, but imagine what I could see if one of us gave in?

If I gave in…

No. She has to.  

It wouldn’t be the first time I slipped. I wonder how close she’s come to giving in.

Leave a Reply

